Home Carson-Newman University Eagles South Atlantic Conference Begins 2016 Conference Playoffs

South Atlantic Conference Begins 2016 Conference Playoffs


SACROCK HILL, S.C. (TheSAC.com)Catawba won its fourth-straight South Atlantic Conference Regular Season Championship as it captured the 2016 Title.  With the crown, the Catawba Indians have earned the No. 1 seed in next week’s Pilot/Flying J South Atlantic Conference Baseball Championship, it was determined as the Conference season concluded today.  Catawba finished the season with a 17-7 League record.

 Carson-Newman and Tusculum tied for second-place in the League standings with 14-10 records.  The Eagles swept the season series from the Pioneers to break the tie and earn the No. 2 seed, leaving Tusculum at No. 3.  Lincoln Memorial and Newberry also turned in identical records as each squad went 13-11 in South Atlantic Conference play.  Lincoln Memorial took all three contests during the regular season to pick up the No. 4 seed, while Newberry garnered the No. 5 seed.  Wingate, Coker and Lenoir-Rhyne finished the season 12-12 in the League standings.  Per the League’s tiebreaker procedure, Wingate picked up the No. 6 seed, Coker took the No. 7 seed and Lenoir-Rhyne rounded out the seeds at No. 8.

The 2016 South Atlantic Conference Baseball Championship will be played at Smokies Stadium in Kodak, Tenn. and will get underway on Thursday, April 28.  Thursday’s games will be single elimination, while the double-elimination portion of the Tournament will be played Friday, April 29-Monday, May 2.  Below is the Championship schedule.

The SAC tournament bracket can be found here: 2016 South Atlantic Conference Baseball Championship

Thursday, April 28 (at Kodak, Tenn.)
#5 Newberry vs. #8 Lenoir-Rhyne, 4:00pm
#6 Wingate vs. #7 Coker, 7:00pm

Friday, April 29 (at Kodak, Tenn.)
#1 Catawba  vs. lowest seed from GM 1 & 2, Noon
#2 Carson-Newman vs. highest seed from GM 1 & 2, 3:45pm
#3 Tusculum vs. #4 Lincoln Memorial, 7:30pm

Saturday, April 30 (at Kodak, Tenn.)
GM 3 loser vs. GM 4 loser, Noon
GM 3 winner vs. GM 5 loser, 3:45pm
GM 4 winner vs. GM 5 winner,7:30pm

Sunday, May 1 (at Kodak, Tenn.)
GM 7 winner vs. GM 8 winner, Noon
GM 6 winner vs. GM 8 loser, 3:45pm
GM 10 winner vs. GM 9 loser, 7:30pm

Monday, May 2 (at Kodak, Tenn.)
GM 9 winner vs. GM 11 winner, 1:00pm



Author: D2BaseballNews